Intern…or independent contractor?

IMAG1727.jpgOne of the most complicated things about starting a new job is getting into a good grove. One where you feel comfortable and knowledgeable and know that the people around you are good to work with. I am reaching that place of comfort with my grocery store job, to a degree. But now I’m having to start all over again with my new internship. The drive there is enough to be stressful, but having to acclimate myself to a group of new people in a new place doing something I’ve never done before makes my once a week excursions to my meetings quite the effort. It doesn’t help that we’re all sort of in the dark on this project.

Normally I think of internship opportunities as a learning experience. Someone within the company takes the intern under their wing and teaches them how to do a specific job. The intern then does the job, for free usually, in return for experience for their resume and possibly a recommendation letter.

My internship, on the other hand, is a little different. There’s one full-time person named Joshua, he’s basically the CEO of Environmental Paper Network. Suzanna, who only works on Thursday and is in charge of the newsletters and organizing the member organizations. And another woman I haven’t met yet named Kim. I’m not entirely sure what it is that she does. None of them is overly familiar with social media marketing. Suzanna has some good ideas and knows her way around the internet, but she is by no means an expert.

So it appears that I have been hired on as an independent contractor who has to teach herself how to do marketing. Everyone is very nice and I’ve been enjoying it so far. But I kind of have the constant feeling of flying by the seat of my pants.

Thank goodness for online tutorials!

2 thoughts on “Intern…or independent contractor?

    • On one level I agree with you and on another it feels a hell of a lot like I have absolutely no idea what I’m doing and teaching myself to do something that no one else in the group knows how to do either.

Leave a Reply

