Excel Excellency

My class started today!

Well…I guess I can hardly call it a class, really. There are lessons that you read through and take notes on. There are quizzes at the end of each lesson, that don’t count for anything. There are assignments, that you don’t turn in. All in all I’m sort of wondering what it is that I paid $70 for.

Granted, there is a final exam that you have to pass in order to get your letter of completion. And in order to pass the exam it is likely that you’d have to have a good understanding of the program and have completed the lessons. I just sort of wish that the quizzes and such were taken into account. It would make me feel like I’m not wasting my time and money on this…

There are other classes I want to take, though. And I think for those you actually have to turn things in and all that. I’ll see how this goes. I’ve never taken an online class before. It’s nice to be able to get up whenever and log in on the day that the lesson comes out and slowly peruse the notes. Rather than waking up 10 minutes before class when you live 20 minutes away and running half naked to your car so you can can get in a fight with someone about parking because there is simply never anywhere to park on college campuses…

There is even a discussion area, so that’s kind of cool. Although most of the people in the course seem like they were lucky to even turn the computer on, I’m sure they’re very nice.

The first lesson in computer courses always makes me laugh.

To open Microsoft Excel 2010 click on your start tab in the bottom right corner. Choose All Programs and go to the Office Suite. Choose Excel.

Once you open Excel you will need to maximize the worksheet window to fill the screen. Click the maximize button in the top right corner.

I mean come ooooon.

It’s better than the Intro to Computers class I took in college, though.

To turn on your computer push the start button. If nothing happens, make sure it is plugged in…

Really? I know that this definitely would have been useful to adults when I was a kid. Because when I was a kid MSDOS made it’s major debut. Of course the computer class would have been more like:

To start the program, insert the floppy disk into the giant-ass tower. Then enter a whole bunch of code to open it. Now you can play Oregon Trail.

But I feel like most adults, regardless of age, at least know what a keyboard is and how to use a mouse. They probably know how to minimize and maximize windows. My 89 year old grandfather is perfectly capable of emailing, Facebooking, and so on. Of course he sort of helped to invent the computer at IBM all those years ago when they were the size of a house and the idea that you could ever have a computer in your house was entirely ludicrous.

Still. If he can figure it out, anyone else younger than him should be able to get a handle on it pretty quickly.

This will certainly be an experience. And at the end of it all at least I will have an actual piece of paper telling employers that I know how to use Excel. It’s one thing to say it, but a nice shiny piece of paper makes all the difference in the world to people.

2 thoughts on “Excel Excellency

Leave a Reply

