iNsane iCare

So, when I start volunteering with the YWCA I will be working with their newly implemented database system, called iCare. Katherine, the program director, told me she wanted me to go through the tutorials offered by the company and learn a bit about the software.

And, frankly, I can’t decide whether the program is really complicated. Or if the Indian man explaining everything in the tutorials makes it seem complicated. I have the urge to write them an email outlining how they need to go about using these tutorial videos.

For instance:

  • One of the most important things a company looks for in an employee who interacts with the public is the ability to speak clearly. This man can barely pronounce the simplest of words and tends to run everything together.
  • His explanations are completely disjointed. Instead of starting at the beginning he jumps around the program, hardly ever explaining what it is that he is doing.
  • He moves way too quickly. He never spends more than a few seconds on a topic. And when he actually does show you what to do on the screen, he moves through it like crazy.
  • He stops in the middle of sentences frequently. And when he starts back up it tends to be in a different place all together.
  • I left each tutorial completely unsure of whether or not I actually knew what I had learned.

The program itself looks like a combination of Excel and the program I used to use at work called SMB Pro. So nothing too alien to me. I just really hope that it’s as user friendly as they claim that it is.

Judging by the videos and the man they chose to be their representative…I’m not overly positive of the outcome.

But! The key here is to stay confident and positive. I’m sure that I can learn everything pretty quickly.

This should be a good starter “job” for me. One of the main things that kept me at my previous job for so long, aside from the money, was the fact that I knew what I was doing. I was familiar with my surroundings, my employees, my expectations, my daily activities. I had the same schedule every week, for the most part. It got boring, yes. But there was a level of comfort that was nice to have.

Starting all over is a little scary. A little stressful. A little nerve-racking.

I’m hoping that starting off with something like a volunteer position will help me get used to the idea of having to learn new things and start at the bottom of the work food chain.

So, here’s to all that. And..,I might just write that email up now…iCare clearly needs someone to tell them they’re doing it wrong.

Leave a Reply

